Riverside Arts Market

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

On Saturday we went to the best arts/farmer’s market we’ve found yet. It’s the Riverside Arts Market, which runs every Saturday all year round (!). It’s held in the trendy Riverside neighborhood underneath the massive Fuller Warren bridge. (There are seriously a lot of bridges in this city!) It was a fantastic mix of fresh locally grown produce, many food vendors, and all kinds of fun, good quality art. They also hold free yoga classes all day long in a small amphitheater-like spot under the bridge. I didn’t come prepared to do the downward dog, but you can bet that next time I’ll wear something more suited to it.

We came hungry, so we immediately snarfed down some dumplings from a Thai booth, and some amazing blue crab soup from a southern food booth.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

Little Bean was a little more fond of the ice cream we got afterwards.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

For me the highlight was picking up some beautiful beets and red bell peppers that I promptly turned into borsht, and drooling over the local lemons and limes. I have designs on those next weekend.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

 

Speaking of produce, I have been itching to get my hands dirty and grow some things in this magical place where it rarely gets below freezing. I have found a nearby community garden and will hopefully receive my plot soon. I feel like a bit of a dunce asking people what in the world one can plant in October (is it possible??) but I have been assured that there are lots of things that can be planted now. I can’t wait to dig in (har, har).

Leave a comment